BEING A WORKING MOM

As is common for many women nowadays, I wear many “hats” in my life.  I have a full-time, demanding job as an attorney, I am a mother to a two-year old and a one-year old (and a baby on the way), I am a wife, I am a daughter, I am a sister, etc.  People ask me on a regular basis: “how do you do it all?”  My stock answer is: “I just do”.

The truth is, in my daily life, when I do stop to think about all I have to do on a regular basis, I do get overwhelmingly stressed.  However, I suppose I then put my Scarlett O’Hara hat on and declare, “I’ll think about that tomorrow.”  Truly, necessity is what tends to rule my life.  I envy other women who (at least) appear to be tremendously organized and somehow have time to cook several meals at a time and freeze them.  My nightly menu consists of meals I can prepare in 15 minutes or less while I do my very best to keep my kids from destroying my kitchen in the meantime.  However, at the end of most days, when I put my children to sleep (and usually have to go “back to work” in my home office), I wonder, did I hug and kiss them enough and do they feel safe and secure knowing that their mommy loves them more than anything in the whole wide world?  It is then then that I realize how thankful I am for the crazy stress in my life because it is the unbelievable blessings in my life that also create my stress.

For all the mothers (and fathers) out there with this kind of stress, in honor of Mother’s day and Father’s day coming up, let’s all pat ourselves on the back for the truly tremendous efforts we have made thus far in our lives and remember, and be thankful, for the amazing blessings we have in our lives. 

Sincerely,

Lori N. Brown

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Working Mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

